Science Advisory Committee

The Science Advisory Committee (SAC) is composed of international experts from large synchrotron laboratories and researchers of related areas which meet regularly to review the operation of the Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory (LNLS). The Committee is also responsible for evaluating the infrastructure improvement projects, as well as research and development projects carried out by Laboratory staff.


The Scientific Committee comprises the following members:

Andrew Peele Australian Synchrotron, ANSTO Australia
Féliz Gregório Requeijo INIFTA (CONICET and UNLP) Argentina
Glaucius Oliva Instituto de Física de São Carlos (IFSC), Universidade de São Paulo (USP) Brazil
Gwyndaf Evans Diamond Light Source United Kingdom
Ian McNulty MAX IV Laboratory Sweden
Jean Susini (Chair) European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) France
Jinghua Guo Advanced Light Source (ALS), Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory USA
Jonathan Lang Advanced Photon Source (APS), Argonne National Laboratory USA
Maria Luiza Rocco Duarte Pereira Instituto de Química, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ) Brazil
Nádya Pesce da Silveira Instituto de Química, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) Brazil
Nicholas Bernard Brookes European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) France
Qun Shen National Synchrotron Light Source II (NSLS-II), Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) USA
Rogério Magalhães Paniago Instituto de Ciências Exatas, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG) Brazil