The EMA Group is responsible for the management and operation of the EMA beamline of the synchrotron light source Sirius, at the Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory (LNLS).

The EMA beamline is dedicated to the study of materials under extreme conditions of temperature, magnetic field, and pressure from the combination of several techniques such as X-ray diffraction, absorption spectroscopy and inelastic scattering.

The EMA group develops several types of experiments with synchrotron light that allow observing the microscopic structure of materials subjected to extreme conditions, revealing mechanisms for the formation of exotic electronic phases such as high critical temperature superconductivity. The set of experiments in extreme conditions developed by the group also allows to simulate the interior of planets and to understand the properties of the matter that composes them, a great scientific challenge for the geosciences.

The team is also responsible for assembling the instrumentation necessary to carry out the experiment, for advising users in the operation of the equipment and in obtaining and processing the data obtained from the EMA beamline.

The staff is responsible for assembling the instrumentation necessary for performing the experiments, for advising users in the operation of the equipment, and in the acquisition and processing of the data obtained in the beamline.

Ema Beamline

The EMA (Extreme condition Methods of Analysis) beamline is planned to make a difference where a high brilliance (high flux of up to 1×1014 photons/sec with beamsize down to 0.1×0.1 μm2) is essential, as is the case with the study of materials under extreme thermodynamic (pressure, temperature and magnetic field) conditions.


Ricardo D. dos Reis
Leader Researcher
+55 19 3512 3505

Scientific Staff

Audrey D. Grockowiak
Flavio C. G. Gandra
Visiting Researcher
Flavio Garcia
Visiting Researcher
Guilherme C. de Andrade
Ulisses F. Kaneko


Gustavo A. Lombardi
Graduate Student
Leonardo O. Kutelak
Graduate Student
Rodrigo T. Victor
Graduate Student
Vinicius E. S. Frehse
Graduate Student

Technical Staff

Joel A. V. Mendonça
Technological Development Analyst
Jose C. C. Filho
Technological Development Analyst
Marcos A. da S. Eleoterio